Deutsches Optisches Museum

Deutsches Optisches Museum D.O.M.

Jena has been writing history of optics for over 200 years. Carl Zeiss, Ernst Abbe and Otto Schott once laid the foundation for close cooperation between science and industry. Both new optical theories and outstanding optical devices have since ensured the reputation of the “City of Light”. Today, the Deutsches Optisches Museum, or D.O.M. for short, is being built here. Physical phenomena of optics, historical as well as modern applications, and a look at current optics research form the triad of the narrative. We won the competition and, together with the D.O.M. team, are developing the concept, design and planning of this new flagship museum of optics.

Carl Zeiss
Ernst Abbe
Otto Schott

History with Contemporary Relevance

The old building, which is rich in tradition and into which the first state school of optometrists moved around 100 years ago, will be extended in the future by a new building that closes the gap to the Volkshaus and the Jena Philharmonie. It is the starting point for the exhibition, and from here visitors can access the various levels in the old building. The corridors from the new building into the old building look like they have been plugged through and open up the halls of the macrocosm, mesocosm and microcosm as well as the treasure chamber in the attic.

Macro-, Meso- and Microcosm

From the large and distant to the human scale to the tiniest detail, the great themes of optics unfold on three levels: Macro – Meso – Micro. The dark central corridors create a recurring linear dramaturgy that arouses curiosity and uses a targeted play of light to attractively introduce the themes. An intro room introduces each with a strongly staged key motif. The subsequent halls are designed to be light or dark, depending on the requirements: Spacious stagings alternate with halls in which the focus is on a few focal points. Historical microscopes, telescopes, eyeglasses and ophthalmic devices enter into a lively interrelationship with interactions, phenomena and modern applications. Optics become an active experience.

Let me do and I will understand.

Following Confucius’ guiding principle “Tell me and I will forget; Show me and I will remember; Let me do and I will understand”, numerous interactions on the four exhibition levels offer the opportunity to explore phenomena for oneself, to recognize optical effects and to understand connections. Experiments with lenses, prisms and optical paths, interactive showcases and media tables, films on history and videos of current research all invite visitors to participate and to be astonished. Again and again, the important historical collection pieces give reason to dive into the respective time and to get to the bottom of how it works.

 

 

Services

Concept and Scenography

  • Development of dramaturgy
  • Content and Exhibition Concept
  • Media Concept and Storyboarding
  • Development of Interactive Exhibits

Design and Planning

  • Interior design
  • Exhibition design and planning in all project phases
  • Corporate identity development
  • Graphic design and guidance systems
  • Exhibits and furniture

Project management and realisation

  • Project management (all phases)
  • Tendering and awarding
  • Production monitoring and cost management
  • Content management and production

Project Information

Client: Stiftung Deutsches Optisches Museum

Opening: 2024

Exhibition area: approx. 3.000 sqm

Contact Person

Nicolas Köster

Projektmanagement

Deutsches Optisches Museum

Deutsches Optisches Museum D.O.M.

Seit über 200 Jahren schreibt Jena Optikgeschichte. Carl Zeiss, Ernst Abbe und Otto Schott legten einst den Grundstein für die enge Kooperation von Wissenschaft und Industrie. Sowohl neue optische Theorien wie auch hervorragende optische Geräte sorgen seitdem für den Ruf der „Lichtstadt“. Heute entsteht hier das Deutsche Optische Museum, kurz D.O.M. Physikalische Phänomene der Optik, historische wie moderne Anwendungen sowie der Blick auf die aktuelle Optikforschung bilden den Dreiklang der Erzählung. Wir haben den Wettbewerb gewonnen und entwickeln gemeinsam mit dem D.O.M.-Team Konzeption, Gestaltung und Planung dieses neuen Leitmuseums der Optik.
Carl Zeiss
Ernst Abbe
Otto Schott

Geschichte mit Gegenwartsbezug

Den traditionsreichen Altbau, in den vor rund 100 Jahren die erste staatliche Augenoptikerschule einzog, erweitert künftig ein Neubau, der die Lücke zum Volkshaus und der Jenaer Philharmonie schließt. Er ist Auftakt für die Ausstellung, von hier aus gelangen die Besucherinnen und Besucher zu den verschiedenen Ebenen im Altbau. Wie durchgesteckt wirken die Gänge vom Neubau in den Altbau hinein und erschließen die Säle des Makro-, Meso- und Mikrokosmos sowie die Schatzkammer im Dachgeschoss.

Makro-, Meso- und Mikrokosmos

Vom Großen und weit Entfernten über das menschliche Maß bis hin ins winzigste Detail entfalten sich die großen Themen der Optik auf drei Ebenen: Makro – Meso – Mikro. Die dunkel gehaltenen Mittelgänge schaffen eine wiederkehrende lineare Dramaturgie, die Neugierde weckt und durch ein gezieltes Lichtspiel attraktiv an die Themen heranführt. Ein Introraum leitet jeweils mit einem stark inszenierten Schlüsselmotiv ein. Die anschließenden Säle sind je nach Anforderung hell oder dunkel gestaltet: Raumgreifende Inszenierungen wechseln mit Sälen ab, in denen der Fokus auf wenigen Schwerpunkten liegt. Historische Mikroskope, Teleskope, Brillen und Geräte der Augenheilkunde treten in eine lebhafte Wechselbeziehung mit Interaktionen, Phänomenen und modernen Anwendungen. Die Optik wird zum aktiven Erlebnis.

Lass es mich tun und ich werde es verstehen

Nach Konfuzius Leitgedanken „Erzähl es mir und ich werde es vergessen; zeige es mir und ich werde mich erinnern; lass es mich tun und ich werde es verstehen“ bieten auf den vier Ausstellungsebenen zahlreiche Interaktionen die Gelegenheit, Phänomene selbst zu erforschen, optische Effekte zu erkennen und Zusammenhänge zu verstehen. Experimente mit Linsen, Prismen und Strahlengängen, interaktive Vitrinen und Medientische, Filme zur Historie bis hin zu Videos aus der gegenwärtigen Forschung laden zum Mitmachen und Staunen ein. Immer wieder geben die bedeutenden historischen Sammlungsstücke Anlass, in die jeweilige Zeit einzutauchen und der Funktionsweise auf den Grund zu gehen.

Leistungen

Konzeption und Szenografie

  • Entwicklung Besuchsdramaturgie
  • Inhalte-Entwicklung und Ausstellungskonzeption
  • Medienkonzeption und Storyboarding
  • Entwicklung interaktiver Exponate

Gestaltung und Planung

  • Innenarchitektur
  • Ausstellungsgestaltung und Planung in allen Projektphasen
  • Entwicklung Corporate Identity
  • Grafik und Leitsysteme
  • Exponate und Möbel

Projektsteuerung und Realisierung

  • Projektmanagement (alle Phasen)
  • Ausschreibung und Vergabe
  • Produktionsüberwachung und Kostenmanagement
  • Content-Management und Inhalte-Produktion

Projektinfo

Auftraggeber: Stiftung Deutsches Optisches Museum

Eröffnung: 2024

Ausstellungsfläche: ca. 3.000 qm

Ansprechpartner

Nicolas Köster

Projektmanagement