Exhibitions and museums in a sustainable way

Sustainability as a theme in exhibitions

The UNESCO Decade of Education for Sustainable Development has come to an end – but the topic of sustainability is still underrepresented in visitor centres, museums and adventure worlds. How can exhibitions contribute to the overall goal of sustainability?

We have our finger on the pulse when it comes to communicating findings and research results on sustainability. Find out more about sustainability in an exhibition context in our blog at: http://ausstellung-museum-nachhaltigkeit.blogspot.de/

Education for sustainable development - an approach for science centres?

The concept of Education for Sustainable Development is not intended to convey specific information or messages about sustainability. Rather, it aims to develop personal skills. With these competencies, people are able to develop lifestyles that contribute to a sustainable future.

We design exhibitions and exhibits that focus on the acquisition of competencies by visitors. We contribute our experience from numerous projects: We know which challenges and opportunities need to be considered when implementing Education for Sustainable Development in museums, visitor centres and science centres so that the exhibition can initiate processes of change.

Sustainability management for museums

Museums and science centres themselves can also contribute to a sustainable development – by introducing a sustainability management system. In a larger institution, this is always associated with a process of change that costs time and resources. studio klv advises museums and science centres on the introduction of sustainability management and accompanies them on their way to more sustainability in their operations.

studio klv realises references to sustainability in a wide variety of projects:

  • Education for Sustainable Development in exhibitions
  • Sustainability management for museums and science centres
  • Interactive exhibitions as an instrument of a CSR strategy of companies
  • ‘Participative Scientific Society’ as a building block of sustainable development
  • Visitor centres of national parks as an instrument for increasing acceptance
  • Natural history museums as institutions for negotiating ‘Global Futures’

Contact person

Dr. Christopher Garthe

Head of conception

Related projects

Ausstellungen und Museen nachhaltig gestalten

Nachhaltigkeit als Thema in Ausstellungen

Die UNESCO-Dekade für Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung ist zu Ende – aber das Thema Nachhaltigkeit ist in Besucherzentren, Museen und Erlebniswelten immer noch unterrepräsentiert. Wie können Ausstellungen dazu beitragen, das globale Ziel der Nachhaltigkeit zu erreichen?

Wir sind am Puls der Zeit, wenn es um die Kommunikation von Erkenntnissen und Forschungsergebnissen zu Nachhaltigkeit geht.

Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung - Ein Ansatz für Science Center?

Das Konzept der Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung möchte nicht bestimmte Informationen oder Botschaften über Nachhaltigkeit vermitteln. Vielmehr zielt es darauf ab, persönliche Kompetenzen zu entwickeln. Mit diesen Kompetenzen sind Menschen in der Lage, Lebensstile zu entwickeln, die zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft beitragen.

Wir konzipieren Ausstellungen und Exponate, die den Kompetenzerwerb der Besucher im Blick haben. Aus zahlreichen Projekten bringen wir unsere Erfahrungen ein: Wir wissen welche Herausforderungen und Chancen bei der Umsetzung von Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung in Museen, Besucherzentren und Science Centern berücksichtigt werden müssen, damit die Ausstellung Veränderungsprozesse anstoßen kann.

Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement für Museen

Auch Museen und Science Center selbst können zu einer Nachhaltigen Entwicklung beitragen – durch die Einführung eines Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements. Dies ist in einer größeren Institution stets mit einem Veränderungsprozess verbunden, der Zeit und Ressourcen kostet. studio klv berät Museen und Science Center bei der Einführung eines Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements und begleitet sie auf Ihrem Weg zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Betrieb.

studio klv realisiert Bezüge zu Nachhaltigkeit in den unterschiedlichsten Projekten:

  • Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Ausstellungen
  • Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement für Museen und Science Center
  • Interaktive Ausstellungen als Instrument einer CSR-Strategie von Unternehmen
  • ‚Participative Scientific Society‘ als Baustein einer Nachhaltigen Entwicklung
  • Besucherzentren von Nationalparken als Instrument der Akzeptanzsteigerung
  • Naturkundemuseen als Institution zur Verhandlung von ‚Global Futures‘

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Christopher Garthe

Director Concept Development

Projekte zum Thema