Romanticum

Rhine Romanticism

“To Bacharach by the Rhine” is how Clemens Brentano began his famous poem about the legendary Lore Lay in 1801. The Romantics’ enthusiasm for the wild and unspoilt nature of the Middle Rhine Valley knew no bounds. With this enthusiasm, the Romanticum exhibition also wants to inspire visitors and invites them to come aboard the ‘MS Rheinromantik’.

An unromantic place

First of all, the location seemed completely unromantic for the planned UNESCO World Heritage Visitor Centre Upper Middle Rhine Valley: a lightless basement, which reminded more of an underground car park than of Rhine romanticism, had to be used and connected with a tourist information centre on the ground floor. After a concept and feasibility study, in which we explored the opportunities and possibilities for the project, we won the competition to implement it and linked the exhibition and tourist information with an innovative compass system in terms of content.

The Rhine panorama

The scenic backdrop of the Rhine, with its rugged cliffs and lonely castle ruins, touched the soul of the Romantics and became a projection screen for their longings. Taking up the idea of the scenic, we brought a 25-metre-long Rhine panorama, like a paper theatre, into the exhibition. Visitors take a Rhine steamer from the 19th century and immerse themselves in a daily routine on board: an interplay of interior design, light, sound and colour design as well as numerous media exhibits combine to create a playful overall experience of Rhine Romanticism.

The Compass

The exhibition complements the tourist information service and creates a link to the region by making it possible to experience the region’s attractions and point out places of interest. A special feature is the compass: visitors can use the QR code on their admission tickets to download recommendations and information from various stations on a personal microsite, which can then be accessed via the Romanticum homepage. The result is a very personal travel guide – with a few specials, of course. The Romanticum was nominated for the Tourism Award 2014.

Tourist Information

We also designed the official Koblenz Tourist Information Office on the ground floor of the Forum Confluentes and linked it to the exhibition in terms of both space and content. Visitors are welcomed and advised at elegant white counters. Right next to them, the entrance to the exhibition is almost fluid: A landing stage with suitcases invites visitors to board the MS Rheinromantik one floor below.

Services

Project development

  • Feasibility study
  • Economical analysis
  • Visit forecast

Conception and scenography

  • Concept positioning and thematic definition
  • Development of dramaturgy and main idea
  • Content development and exhibition conception
  • Media conception and storyboarding
  • Development of interactive exhibits

Design and planning

  • Interior design
  • Exhibition design and planning in all project phases
  • Development of a Corporate Identity
  • Graphics and guidance systems
  • exhibits and furniture

Project management and implementation

  • Project management (all phases)
  • Tenders and awarding
  • Production supervision and cost management
  • Content management and content production

Project information

Client: Koblenz Touristik (Eigenbetrieb der Stadt Koblenz)
Execution period: 08/2011 – 06/2013
Exhibition area: 1.300 sqm

Contact person

Jan Löken

Executive Director Design and planning

Romanticum

Rheinromantik

„Zu Bacharach am Rheine“ so beginnt Clemens Brentano 1801 sein berühmtes Gedicht über die sagenhafte Lore Lay. Die Begeisterung der Romantiker für die wilde und unverfälschte Natur des Mittelrheintals kannte keine Grenzen. Mit dieser Begeisterung möchte die Erlebnisausstellung Romanticum auch die Besucher anstecken und lädt ein an Bord der ‚MS Rheinromantik’ zu kommen.

Ein unromantischer Ort

Erst einmal gänzlich unromantisch wirkte der Ort für das geplante Besucherzentrum UNESCO-Welterbe Oberes Mittelrheintal: Es galt ein lichtloses Kellergeschoss, das mehr an eine Tiefgarage als an Rheinromantik erinnerte, zu bespielen und mit einer Touristeninformation im Erdgeschoss zu verbinden. Nach einer Konzept- und Machbarkeitsstudie, in der wir die Chancen und Möglichkeiten für das Vorhaben ausloteten, haben wir den Wettbewerb zur Umsetzung gewonnen und dabei Ausstellung und Touristeninformation mit einem innovativen Kompass-System auch inhaltlich verknüpft.

Das Rheinpanorama

Die landschaftliche Kulisse des Rheins, mit ihren schroffen Felsen und einsamen Burgruinen, berührte die Seele der Romantiker und wurde Projektionsfläche ihrer Sehnsüchte. Die Idee des Kulissenhaften aufgreifend haben wir ein 25 Meter langes Rheinpanorama, wie ein Papiertheater, in die Ausstellung geholt. Die Besucher begeben sich auf einen Rheindampfer aus dem 19. Jahrhundert und tauchen ein in einen Tagesablauf an Bord: ein Zusammenspiel aus Inneneinrichtung, Licht-, Sound- und Farbdesign sowie zahlreichen medialen Exponaten verbindet sich zu einem spielerischen Gesamterlebnis der Rheinromanik.

Der Kompass

Die Ausstellung ergänzt das Angebot der Touristeninformation und schafft einen Bezug zur Region, indem sie Attraktionen der Gegend erlebbar macht und auf Sehenswürdigkeiten hinweist. Ein besonderes Feature ist der Kompass: Die Besucher können sich mit dem QR-Code auf ihren Eintrittstickets an verschiedenen Stationen Empfehlungen und Infos auf eine persönliche Microsite laden, die sich anschließend über die Homepage des Romanticums abrufen lässt. So entsteht ein ganz persönlicher Reiseführer – natürlich noch mit ein paar Specials. Das Romanticum wurde für den Tourismuspreis 2014 nominiert.

Touristeninformation

Die offizielle Tourist-Information Koblenz im Erdgeschoss des Forum Confluentes haben wir ebenfalls gestaltet und sowohl räumlich als auch inhaltlich mit der Ausstellung verbunden. An eleganten weißen Tresen werden die Besucher empfangen und beraten. Gleich daneben findet der Einstieg in die Ausstellung beinahe fließend statt: Eine Anlegestelle mit Koffern lädt auf die MS Rheinromantik ein Stockwerk tiefer ein.

Leistungen

Projektentwicklung

  • Machbarkeitsstudie
  • Analyse Wirtschaftlichkeit
  • Besuchsprognose

Konzeption und Szenografie

  • Positionierung und Thematisierung
  • Entwicklung Besuchsdramaturgie und Main Idea
  • Inhalte-Entwicklung und Ausstellungskonzeption
  • Medienkonzeption und Storyboarding
  • Entwicklung interaktiver Exponate

Gestaltung und Planung

  • Innenarchitektur
  • Ausstellungsgestaltung und Planung in allen Projektphasen
  • Entwicklung Corporate Identity
  • Grafik und Leitsysteme
  • Exponate und Möbel

Projektsteuerung und Realisierung

  • Projektmanagement (alle Phasen)
  • Ausschreibung und Vergabe
  • Produktionsüberwachung und Kostenmanagement
  • Content-Management und Inhalte-Produktion

Projektinfo

  • Auftraggeber: Koblenz Touristik (Eigenbetrieb der Stadt Koblenz)
  • Ausführungszeitraum: 08/2011 – 06/2013
  • Ausstellungsfläche: ca. 1.300 qm

Ansprechpartner

Jan Löken

Geschäftsführer Architektur und Gestaltung