Hugo Ball Kabinett

Jolifanto bambla o falli bambla

Like a magical bishop, Hugo Ball begins to recite his sound poem “Caravan” evocatively and solemnly. It is June 1916 and the performance takes place in the legendary Zurich Cabaret Voltaire, the birthplace of Dadaism. 100 years later his sound poem sounds again: this time as a media production in the Hugo Ball Cabinet in Pirmasens. Ball was born here in 1886.

In the roof truss of the cultural centre 'Forum Alte Post'.

The city of Pirmasens honours its important son with this biographical exhibition. The scenography incorporates the winding architecture of the three rooms in the attic of the Alte Post, adds large polygonal wall elements and brings the Cabaret Voltaire to life as a playful spatial installation. Ball once wrote to his sister: “Our fame has not yet reached Pirmasens. Well, that will come. Later on.” Now at the latest, the glory has arrived.

A Cubist painting by Marcel Janco, the only surviving representation of Cabaret Voltaire, gives us an impression of the activity there.

With big steps Hugo Ball moved through the landscape of ideas of his time, always with a tendency towards the afterlife, the fantastic. Visitors can wander through the three rooms of the exhibition, each of which is dedicated to a section of Hugo Ball’s life in its own aesthetic.

Projection

The central space of the exhibition appears a labyrinth, dark and confusing. A figure reminiscent of Ball’s appearance as a magical bishop recites the “Caravan”. Collage-like images are played onto the figurine with a 3D projection and artistically illustrate the lecture. Visitors are immersed in the atmosphere of Cabaret Voltaire, co-founded by Hugo Ball. It only existed for five months and yet changed the world of art.

Film: Denis Bivour

Service

Project development

  • Concept and Feasibility study
  • Visit forecast
  • Marketing and public relations
  • “Moderation of development and decision-making processes”

Conception and scenography

  • Concept positioning and thematic definition
  • Development of dramaturgy and main idea
  • Media conception and storyboarding
  • Development of interactive exhibits

Design and planning

  • Architecture
  • Exhibition design and planning

Project information

  • Client: Stadt Pirmasens
  • Execution period: 02/2016 – 11/2016
  • Exhibition area: 184 qm

Contact person

Ludger Jansen

Head of Design

Hugo Ball Kabinett

Jolifanto bambla o falli bambla

Beschwörend und feierlich beginnt Hugo Ball als magischer Bischof sein Lautgedicht „Karawane“ vorzutragen. Es ist Juni 1916 und die Aufführung findet im legendären Züricher Cabaret Voltaire, dem Geburtsort des Dadaismus, statt. 100 Jahre später erklingt sein Lautgedicht erneut: dieses Mal als mediale Inszenierung im Hugo Ball Kabinett in Pirmasens. Hier wurde Ball 1886 geboren.

Im Dachstuhl des Kulturzentrums ‚Forum Alte Post’

Die Stadt Pirmasens ehrt ihren bedeutenden Sohn mit dieser biografischen Ausstellung. Die Inszenierung bezieht die verwinkelte Architektur der drei Räume im Dachgeschoss der Alten Post gestalterisch ein, fügt große polygonale Wandelemente hinzu und erweckt das Cabaret Voltaire als spielerische Rauminstallation zum Leben. Einst schrieb Ball an seine Schwester: „Bis Pirmasens ist unser Ruhm noch nicht gedrungen. Nun, das wird noch kommen. Später einmal.“ Spätestens jetzt ist er da.

Einen Eindruck vom Treiben dort vermittelt uns ein kubistisches Gemälde von Marcel Janco, der einzigen erhaltenen Darstellung des Cabaret Voltaire.

Mit großen Schritten bewegte sich Hugo Ball durch die Ideen-Landschaften seiner Zeit, immer mit einem Hang zum Jenseitigen, Fantastischen. Die Besucher können durch die drei Räume der Ausstellung wandern, die sich – jeweils in einer eigenen Ästhetik – einem Abschnitt von Hugo Balls Leben widmen.

Projektion

Labyrinthisch, dunkel und unübersichtlich wirkt der zentrale Raum der Ausstellung. Eine Figurine, die an Balls Auftritt als magischer Bischof erinnert, rezitiert die „Karawane“. Collageartige Bilder werden mit einer 3D-Projektion auf die Figurine gespielt und illustrieren den Vortrag künstlerisch. Die Besucher tauchen ein in die Stimmung des von Hugo Ball mitgegründeten Cabaret Voltaire. Nur fünf Monate existierte es und veränderte dennoch die Welt der Kunst.

Film: Denis Bivour

Leistungen

Projektentwicklung

  • Konzept- und Machbarkeitsstudie
  • Besuchsprognose
  • Marketing und PR
  • Moderation von Entwicklungs- und Entscheidungsprozessen

Konzeption und Szenographie

  • Positionierung und Thematisierung
  • Entwicklung Besuchsdramaturgie und Main Idea
  • Medienkonzeption und Storyboarding
  • Entwicklung interaktiver Exponate

Gestaltung und Planung

  • Architektur
  • Ausstellungsgestaltung

Projektinfo

  • Auftraggeber: Stadt Pirmasens
  • Ausführungszeitraum: 02/2016 – 11/2016
  • Ausstellungsfläche: 184 qm

Ansprechpartner

Ludger Jansen

Art Director